top of page

3 Marketing Tips For Small Business Owners



I think every business owner, after several years in business, gets asked by every new business owner for marketing tips. I owned a Janitorial business for 6 years, after recently shutting down, I started Garfield Media, LLC in its place.


When I'm asked this question, the answer I generally give is:


1. Take time to experiment with different marketing techniques so you can get an idea that works for your brand. I've generally found that if you set a really low budget, around $500 or less, and find new businesses within that specialty is the best way to experiment. The great thing about being a new business owner is that your prices tend to be under market rate while you build your reputation. If, by happenstance, you stumble across a talented individual, your brands and businesses will benefit greatly.


The first video I bought was $25 for a 5 second animation. I learned that I needed to add video to my marketing strategy, however it wasn't going to be with that individual. Sometimes you have to see the potential and then find the right individual that will present your brand in your desired strategy.


2. Always think from your clients point of view, if you can't walk a mile in their shoes, business can be harder than it needs to be. One of the ways I did this in my Janitorial business was a pre service walk through with the client. Part of looking from your clients point of view is it will improve your customer service skills and how you handle disputes.


Seeing things from my clients POV is why I chose to use video as part of my marketing strategy years ago. As technology advances, the written word will be more like a hobby, so the need for visual storytelling is important. As a business, if you don't see the trends coming, you won't be in business for very long. A great example of this is the "Great Resignation" that's sweeping the country.


3. Lastly, following through on your word and your price is paramount. Unless it's written in the contract, the price you give is the price you charge. When you under bid, just remember it's a learning experience. I've had instances where I underbid by as much as 50%, however my mistake was a blessing because those clients ended up being my most loyal and highest paying clients.


What would your advice be?





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page